Australian High Commission Pretoria


The Australian high commission Pretoria is the chief representative office of the Australian government in the South African republic. It is headed by a High Commissioner who is the highest ranking official. His or her primary work is to further Australia’s interests in politics, economics and security in South Africa by working as partners and friends in helping the country reach its full potential and help in its development agenda. The High commissioner is also tasked with overseeing the work of Service Officers and other staff members. He or she is also accredited to other countries in the South African region such as Botswana, Lesotho, Angola, Namibia, Swaziland and Mozambique.

Australian citizens living or working in South Africa are encouraged to register with the Australian High Commission so that they can receive assistance in case of an emergency. This is a simple and quick process through which Australian national will receive travel advisories, information on expatriates and travelers, and notice of elections. The high commission in Pretoria also assists Australian nationals who have lost their passports while in South Africa or those intending to apply for new passports.

South Africans wishing to travel to Australia can apply for various types of visas. They are dependent on the purpose of visit and the duration of stay in the country. An Australian travel visa is necessary for citizens of South Africa and the six countries mentioned intending to travel to the country for a vacation, visits to friends or family members and short trips for business purposes. An online visa application guide has been provided by the Australian High Commission Pretoria to simplify and expedite the procedure for all applicants.

It is also possible for persons in South Africa and the six mentioned countries to apply for Australian Family visas. These were introduced with the aim of reuniting persons with immediate and extended families in Australia. This scheme is referred to as the Family Migration Scheme. In order for an individual to qualify, he or she must receive sponsorship from a close family member who must be a citizen of Australia, a permanent resident of Australia or an eligible New Zealand citizen. It is also necessary for the sponsor to have attained the majority age of 18 years. The types of visas available in the scheme are spouse visa, parent visa-working age, prospective marriage visa, parent visa-aged and remaining relative visa. A free assessment is carried out to determine the eligibility of all visa applicants where applicants are also encouraged to provide accurate information for realistic results.

Australia student visas are offered to persons intending to study on a full-time basis in the country. They are offered to all levels of education, which includes non-award-courses, vocational, postgraduate, tertiary, secondary and primary. The most current estimates have given a figure of over 300,000 successful applicants for student visas from the international community. A free assessment is also conducted to determine the eligibility of the applicants.

It is also worth noting that the Australian High Commission Pretoria actively participates in the development of cultural affairs in South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Angola, Namibia, Swaziland and Mozambique. Its activities are coordinated from the foreign affairs ministry.


Address and Contacts

  • Address: 292 Orient Street, Arcadia, Pretoria, South Africa
  • Telephone: +27 12 423 6000
  • Fax: +27 12 342 8442
  • Online: